Home‎ > ‎System Administration‎ > ‎

NEW Default User Types

Default User Types

Default User Types are a way for administrators to manage multiple users’ permissions at once. This will allow a company to create generic user profiles that can be assigned to new or existing users. User permissions can then be updated across a group of users at one time.

Creating Default User Types


  1. Log in using the System Administrator credentials.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Users.
  4. Click the new Default User Types button. Here, you’ll see a list of the User Types created in your BestNotes.
  5. To create a new type, click Create New User Type. Here, you’ll be able to establish the default permission profile for this user type.
  6. Assign a name and description for the User type, then check the boxes corresponding to the desired default permissions for that profile.
  7. Click Save.

Assigning Default User Types

When creating a new user or updating an existing user, click on the "User Type" drop down and select the appropriate User Type for the user. This will assign the permissions from the Default User Type selected to the user you are creating or editing. Existing user types can be assigned by a staff member with the "Manage Users" permission.


NOTE: If updating an existing user, this will overwrite any permissions assigned to that user previously.

You can manually edit the user’s permissions after assigning a user type in order to customize a user’s permissions according to their duties.

Updating A Default User Type

  1. Click Settings.
  2. Click Users.
  3. Click Default User Types.
  4. Click the User Type you would like to edit permissions for:

     5. Make your desired modifications to the User Profile.

     6. Click “Save”. This will update the permission profile for all users assigned this User Type. You will see a list of those users on the right hand side of the window.

NOTE: If you do not want updated permissions to apply to a particular user, uncheck their name on the right.